Things a man should not be doing this month

According to Esquire, a man should not be doing these things during the month of April.

1.) Carrying out an April Fool’s joke.

What’s wrong with carrying out an April Fool’s joke? Doesn’t Esquire have a sense of humor? Granted, I’ve never actually carried out an April Fool’s joke simply because I’m not clever enough to think of a good enough one in the first place. The best joke I ever did was the night of my 16th birthday party. I had my friends over and we prank called my 17 year-old neighbor. I left a voicemail on his home phone saying that it was “Pam from Planned Parenthood” and that Joe should give us a call back immediately concerning recent test results. We thought we were hysterical.

2.) Celebrating “Weed Day” on 4/20. 

If you are in college, 4/20 is celebrated just as any other holiday. When my roommate came home from classes that day, she said she knew it was 4/20 because the Green line reeked of weed. This is not surprising.

3.) Uploading to YouTube baby’s first Easter-egg hunt.

I agree. No one cares that Little Charlie managed to find a plastic egg with a mini-Snickers bar inside that he can’t even eat because he has no teeth. If you really want to see a baby video worth watching, you need to check out this classic YouTube gem.

4.) Taking to work more than one son or daughter on “Take Your Son Or Daughter To Work Day.”

I’ve led a deprived childhood as I never got to experience one of these days. However, as a child of three divorces, I disagree with this statement because what if you have a single parent? Does that mean that one kid has to miss out? Heck no–bring ’em both.

About Taylor

Taylor Trudon is a senior journalism major at the University of Connecticut. She is commentary editor of the student newspaper, The Daily Campus, and career editor of Her Campus magazine. Taylor is a 2009 and 2010 New York Women in Communications scholarship recipient.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment